{'en': 'United States', 'es': 'Vivir en Estados Unidos'} Image

United States

joselito's profile photo   12/24/2015 11:33 a.m.

Hello everyone and happy holidays !!!!
I introduce myself.I am Jose, 27 years old and diabetic since the age of 5.I am an animator (cartoons) and I am about to embark on an exciting adventure, and therefore, all the problems that lead to be diabetic abroad.

In January I go to United States to live (Los Angeles), for at least 2 years, with their respective visits to my land Malaga, which will be not many.My problem, and I suppose that of many, who want to move abroad, is access to insulin, strips, and other medicines.

At the moment my plan is: take all the insulin that I have at home there, but then the great abyss arrives: have available what I need to live .Do you know what could be the best options for this problem?

Buying insulin there is incredibly expensive.Each bowl of those used (Humalog and Lantus) costs the a whopping amount of $ 200 approx, therefore it is unable to not be of extreme emergency.Another option that I am considering is to send me insulin from Spain.I have been investigating special boxes that retain insulin at the desired temperature, but this carries another problem: the reception of the box.In the United States, it presents a big problem to send or receive medicine.

I would like to know about your experience to find the best option.

I am opening a blog to tell my personal experience, there is nothing yet. Link

Thanks for your time, and happy holidays!

joselito's profile photo
joselito
12/24/2015 11:33 a.m.
No signature configured, update it from user's profile.

Let's see if @inday speaks to you, who lives there. I suppose that, if you go with work, the insurance takes care of everything.
Be good luck. My daughter would love your work.

Regina's profile photo
Regina
12/26/2015 7:20 a.m.

Hija de 35 años , diabética desde los 5. Glico: normalmente de 6 , pero 6,7 la última ( 6,2 marcaba el Free)