My wife has debuted 3 days ago, I don't know anything about this world :-(

Dirkan's profile photo   06/29/2015 1:46 p.m.

Hello, everyone.

Last Friday my wife had her "debut" (when I hear the word almost seemed ironic).Type 1 diabetes with family history.The truth is that this world was (and is still) totally unknown to me, they have not yet given the glucometer or the strips, we have to go to the greeting center this afternoon to tell how the subject is going.

As I tell you, we do not know practically anything, we are somewhat scared/overwhelmed, especially because of the theme of food, what can eat and what not, how strict schedules will be, etc.

For now I am studying a little on the subject, knowing what all this is going on and how to face it in the best possible way, to try not to turn it into a trauma.

Anyway, I just wanted to greet, I will begin to read the threads of the forum to thoroughly study the New World that opens before us.

Thank you all for participating telling your experiences, they serve as a lot to the newcomers.

All the best.

Dirkan's profile photo
Dirkan
06/29/2015 1:46 p.m.
No signature configured, update it from user's profile.

The first thing, a lot of encouragement.It will not be a normal life, but with effort it can be a bearable and happy life.

I would study this website, you can mark a before and after in a person's knowledge about the disease: Link

Check an eye to this recent thread, with a similar situation: Link

And finally, many of us hate the term "debut" and avoid using it, it seems that they are laughing at us.
Saying "has been diagnosed" is better.

Artorias's profile photo
Artorias
06/29/2015 1:58 p.m.

As Altorias says, my daughter with thirteen years was diagnosed last day 5, I don't like the word "debut."It is being difficult, with many fears ... but this forum is helping us a lot.And Dirkan, surely we will be able to do it !!!!For what they say we can !!!!

RocioLlinares's profile photo
RocioLlinares