{'en': 'The experience of a diabetes nurse at school', 'es': 'La experiencia de una enfermera de diabetes en la Escuela'} Image

The experience of a diabetes nurse at school

fer's profile photo   10/16/2016 12:44 p.m.

When I started studying nursing, I didn't even think about the relationship my career could have with a school.Everything were urgencies, plants, consultations, UCIS ... The exciting world of the nurse in practices!And I loved it.

But something changed and as a nurse when, for the first time I went to visit my partner and predecessor Elena (the one that introduced me to the world of type 1 diabetes and insulin bombs) and something clicks inside me ...He established an immediate connection with the children that he was going to have to take care of the next month (even without knowing it, I was only out of curiosity) and that she was already doing so well!

This sheet together with the protocols of children made with great patience and care for their mothers, in which I only saw numbers (glycemia) and ml of juices or half cookies were my start guide.That and a panic nurse service that the potatoes had all day to solve all the doubts that I had, that were not few!

And so my adventure began, always on the final date on 30-31 of each month and the uncertainty of whether the entire course would continue, for "children have to be autonomous and a nurse takes away autonomy."

This was one of the first phrases that I heard throughout this path (among other barbarities) and that made me think for the first time: autonomy?Are cars?No, they are children of 4.7 and 8 years.I would not be autonomous instead.

With the passage of time I have been molding my thinking about autonomy, as I have known other children of other ages and talking to adult patients and from my point of view, until 12 years they do not acquire the total degree of autonomy necessary forhandle the ins and outs of your "partner."