Help with Humalog Mix 25 ... Does anyone here use it?

Cleodomira's profile photo   10/01/2020 6:19 a.m.

Hello!I am new in this world of needles, diets and many care ... My doctor prescribed this insulin, but it was not clear ... he told me that I should apply 12 units fifteen minutes before breakfast and 12 units before dinner ..But I wonder?And the time of lunch?Because not apply before lunch? ... thanks for reading me

Cleodomira's profile photo
Cleodomira
10/01/2020 6:19 a.m.
No signature configured, update it from user's profile.

Mix 25 carries 25% fast insulin and 75% slow.The slow is used to meet the needs of the body between meals (there must always be some insulin in the body) and the rapid for meals.These mixture insulins are not usually used because they always force you to eat the same and wear fixed schedules.I suppose that what you try is to cover you 24 hours with the slow one that carries the mixture and breakfast and dinner with the fast.It saves you punctures but the control will be worse and you have to be strict with the schedules.With that insulin you cannot put another dose at noon because you are overlapping the action of the slow one with the morning and night and can give you hypoglycemia.
Next time he asks the doctor because he puts that treatment and not another of slow insulin every 24 hours and fast in each meal.They are at least 4 punctures a day instead of 2 but the control is much better and you do not have to be strict with the schedules or the meals.If you do not eat do not click and you put the fast insulin depending on what you are going to eat, so you can vary what you eat every day.Of course every time you eat is a little more that of slow every day at the same time.
He has put it like this to facilitate things at first because to use fast and slow separate, many knowledge of counting hydrates is missing, knowing the effect that the insulin does you can change throughout the day and with hormones ...It is quite complex.