Today I had my first big scare since I am type 1 diabetic

Rbb's profile photo   03/05/2020 4:34 p.m.

Two cacaolat milkshakes, two Aquarius glasses and two 10 grams sugar envelopes each;All this is what I have needed today to avoid a serious hypoglycemia.I am young, but I debuted in 2012, so I have some experience, and today I will explain my worst moment to date as type 1 diabetic.

At 1:30 pm today began to eat while 204 glucose (this morning I have been a little high).Half an hour after eating, I have realized that I had not kept the insulin pen fiasp (ultra -grape insulin) in place, so I have surprised.Normally I charge the dose of insulin that I am going to put before starting each meal, so that if the pen is loaded, I have not yet injected the dose.The point is that today, after eating, the pen was not in place and, in addition, it was loaded with 6 units, which are the ones that (in theory) I had already administered.I have thought that I had neglected, so I have injected those 6 units thinking that I had not done it before starting to eat.

At ten minutes I have come to mind an image of mine injecting me insulin just before eating, so I have begun to suspect that, probably, I had administered twice those 6 units of insulin (one before starting to eat and another immediatelyafter).Indeed, my suspicions were true.I have begun to ingest everything that I mentioned at the beginning of the text, but a few minutes later I was 144 (from 204 to 144).After a few more minutes, my glucose level was already 99. I have scared and called for emergencies.I have calmly explained the situation, to which they have told me that having been able to detect my error as soon, I could get out of the situation if I was ingesting sugars and, at the same time, I was monitoring my blood glucose levels.