{'en': 'When to measure glucose, past 1 hour or past 2 hours?', 'es': '¿Cuando medir la glucosa, pasada 1 hora o pasadas 2 horas?'} Image

When to measure glucose, past 1 hour or past 2 hours?

Marisa123's profile photo   01/25/2024 5:48 p.m.

Hello everyone.

As I am new in this and I follow this forum closely, I have a doubt due to the different testimonies I read.

I am a bit of the issue of sugar measurements after meals.

I understand that the measurement of fasting sugar is simple: you get up and do it.

But what about the measurements after meals?

I see that some of you mention that they are measured 1 hour later ... I have always indicated to measure it at 2 hours.

Is the value of the sugar a lot between the hour and 2 hours after eating?

Marisa123's profile photo
Marisa123
01/25/2024 5:48 p.m.

Diabética tipo 2 desde hace poco, introduciendo la insulina en mi vida.

Mind yourself at 2 hours, when the bolus is supposed to have passed to blood, we are going that the stomach has processed.
At the time it is not yet a stable value.
Ideally, be below 180 at 2 hours.And much better if you are in Normaglycemia or as close as possible

Ruthbia's profile photo
Ruthbia
01/25/2024 6:11 p.m.

Lada enero 2015.
Uso Toujeo y Novorapid.

But sometimes the biggest peak is done at the time, according to what you eat that looks good with the sensor.

Regina's profile photo
Regina
01/25/2024 6:16 p.m.

Hija de 35 años , diabética desde los 5. Glico: normalmente de 6 , pero 6,7 la última ( 6,2 marcaba el Free)
Fiasp: 4- 4- 3 Toujeo: 20

regina said:
but sometimes the biggest peak is done at the time, according to what you eat that looks good with the sensor.

And sometimes at 4 hours if you eat fat ...

isabelbota's profile photo
isabelbota
01/25/2024 6:37 p.m.

DM 2 con páncreas agotado desde diciembre 2020. 51 años entonces.
HG diciembre 2020: 15.9. Última HG: julio 2024 5.8