renal failure by diabetes mellitus type 1

juanma.62's profile photo   03/18/2010 2:09 p.m.

Hello everyone I am very new in this diabetes, so that you understand me I will put a little in the background.
At the root of acute pancreatites, later derived in chronicles I had to submit to quite aggressive surgeons 1st a duodenopancreateratectomy cephalica to the whiple and 1 year later to a total residual pancreatomia, in the root of this last one it is diabetic now three years ago andHalf, I carry it quite well, but in this last revision of 03/15/2010 the endocrine I found a mild renal failure, the daily controls of sugar had them quite well but in the analirica they were quite bad, I sincerely do not understand it,I was with Novomix 30 Flex Pen and from 15 I gave me lantus soloostar 20 you at night and apidra solostar variable according to glucose
I would like to know if someone is in conditions similar to mine and if renal failure is normal.
All the best
Juan Manuel

juanma.62's profile photo
juanma.62
03/18/2010 2:09 p.m.
No signature configured, update it from user's profile.

Hello Juanma

The blood glucose control is more objectively measured with glycosylated hemoglobin (laboratory analysis) and presence/absence of hyper and hypos.Sometimes it does not match our measurements with the glucometer with blood analytics.

Mild renal failure is usually frequent in type 1 ... I know a couple of girls with 4-5 years of evolution to which microalbumin has been detected.

Your case is something complex.
I imagine that they will have advised you a very poor fat diet, because one of the complications of your operations is a slowing of gastric emptying ... which also conditions the choice of the most appropriate insulin.
The mix30 is difficult to control because it has prolonged action peaks and forces to be very aware of meals and glycemias ... although in your case it was not a bad choice, in my opinion.