Diabetes, Maltodextrin and Dextrose

ferchuviera's profile photo   05/12/2011 2:28 p.m.

Good morning, or good afternoon depending on where it is, I want to present myself, I am Fernando I am 21 years old and I am an insulin dependent diabetic.Currently, as before suffering this department, I practice high performance swimming in Uruguay.

Ultimately, my coach and some of my colleagues proposed to take a drink with maltodextrina or dextrose, since sometimes I feel with little energy and the demands are high, but I do not know their effects well in my body and if these are suitable for my consumption.

In addition to seeking my performance, I am interested in all the topic of sport and diabetes, since I am a student of physical education and I would like to base my thesis on this, as affects the practice of sport, energetic drinks and more to life and controlof a diabetic person.

Well, I would be very grateful if someone can answer my first question, and even more if someone wanted to share a testimony with me too: D

Thank you very much and greetings from Uruguay

ferchuviera's profile photo
ferchuviera
05/12/2011 2:28 p.m.
No signature configured, update it from user's profile.

Well man, both 2 are carbohydrates ... derivatives or precursors (I no longer remember exactly) of glucose ... so they will raise glycemia.

If you decide to keep them in mind/1762/61/00610065_LR.pdf¸

DiabetesForo's profile photo
DiabetesForo
05/12/2011 5:01 p.m.

Thank you very much for the link with the PDF, I will read it carefully ...

ferchuviera's profile photo
ferchuviera
05/13/2011 12:18 a.m.

Hello,

As Owash tells you, both dextrose and maltodextrinas are carbohydrates, in addition both have a high glycemic index.Dextrose is a molecule very similar to glucose, in fact it is the same but with a different spatial configuration, the maltodextrinas are derived from starch and are composed of several glucose molecules (upglucose or dextrose but also cause blood glucose elevation.