{'en': '"The pending subject in schools is to teach to eat"', 'es': '«La asignatura pendiente en los colegios es enseñar a comer»'} Image

"The pending subject in schools is to teach to eat"

fer's profile photo   04/12/2015 11:33 a.m.

Improving the life of diabetic patients was what promoted María Teresa Lord Rodríguez to found in the year 1986 in Santiago the Compostela de Diabeticos Association, of which she is president.A ailment that will address through a workshop on April 25 at Casa da Botica, in Loimil (A Estrada).

-His involvement for this disease also attends to personal reasons?

-No.I am not a diabetic but I am a nurse at the Conxo hospital in the Unit of Food Disorders and when working in Endocrinology there are many diabetic patients you see.Years ago, together with other colleagues, we thought there had to be an association to solve all the doubts that these patients raised.Thus the association in Compostela was born.We start with 30 partners and today we are 800;And don't think we are many.There are more sick people but people are still very reluctant to associate.They diagnose the disease and throw as they can.We, through the association, every year we try to give visibility to the disease on World Diabetes Day with the installation of a tent in Santiago in which we offer information.

-What is diabetes?

-It is a chronic disease that appears because the pancreas does not manufacture the amount of insulin that the human body needs, or the factory but of a lower quality.It is essential to educate patients to control their diabetes properly since they can carry other pathologies such as cardiovascular, neurological, retinopathies or nephropathies diseases.Note that we can find type 1 diabetes, type 2 and gestational that can be developed during pregnancy.In that case, insulin increases to increase energy reserves.

-For the diagnosis of the disease, what is the first great concern?